Well, if you guys were expecting a “post-election” post on this blog…you were right! (I know I’m like a week late on this…sorry.)

I still can’t really get over what happened Tuesday night. We all knew that it would be historic if Obama won, but I don’t think it really sank in for me until it actually happened. For the first time ever, the leader of our country, our primary representative overseas, the person who will address our nation from the Oval Office, will be a black man.

november-4-2008

I’m not an extremely emotional guy, but I couldn’t stop from tearing up a little bit as I watched our President-elect address the crowd in Grant Park. It was obvious that people were there not just to celebrate their candidate’s victory, but to see a noble and long-awaited dream finally realized. While it’s obvious that the celebration was particularly meaningful for African-Americans, that didn’t stop people of every color and background from joining in the celebration. This was what I found most beautiful about the night. At least for those few moments, any hints of racial conflict or bitterness seemed to be forgotten, and a spirit of “we’re all in this together” appeared to saturate the evening.

And as poignant and moving as it was, I couldn’t help but realize that this is not what it’s all about. The real “hope” and “change” that we need is not in a black President, or even in racial reconciliation. Our Messiah gives us real hope, and it’s His kingdom (not Obama’s America) that is truly good, and any good work we do on earth should be for the glory of God and His kingdom. I hope that for Christians, Obama’ s example of good work will not just encourage us to work alongside him for the sake of our country, but spur us on to join God in His bigger redemptive work in the world.

When I think about the reasons I voted for Obama (his decency, common respect for people, love for his family, concern for the poor, desire to reconcile people together, etc.), I realize that Jesus blows Obama out of the water by embodying these things perfectly, and that it is He who will ultimately make things right. If Obama can point our country in a more redemptive direction, we should be thankful for his efforts, imperfect as they are. I just hope we will continue to look to Christ for our true hope, example, and glory.

With that said, congratulations to Barack Obama for an absolutely history-making win, and hopefully a fine four years to come!

