So, I’m not sure if people know this, but Drea and I were actually in a “dating relationship” for a few months back when I was in 10th grade and she was in 8th. (Permission to judge me for being a cradle-robber is hereby granted.)

I put “relationship” in quotes because it barely qualified as such, by even the most juvenile standards. Basically, we liked each other for a few months, and I finally worked up the courage to ask her out at a youth group outing to a Michael W. Smith concert (because I was super-cool back then). That was October 30, 1998, ten years ago today. How the time does fly!

Anyway, the words, “Will you go out with me?” and “Yes” were the first of about 19 words we exchanged verbally for the entire five or so months we went out. I suppose there are a few potential explanations for this, but it’s probably most accurate to say that at that point I was pretty much terrified of girls, including even my “girlfriend.” As such, we communicated via hand-written notes. (Remember, this was 1998, so we didn’t have email or texting or Facebook like all this young whipper-snappers do now.)

Our note-based discourse was usually centered on topics of unrivaled banality and meaninglessness: the latest songs on the radio, trips to Adventure World (as it was then known) for Hollow-Scream, whether or not it would be OK if I put my arm around her at youth group. (You think I’m kidding?)

We broke up (actually, Drea dumped me) because she evidently thought she could do better (WRONG). Actually she broke up with me because “this relationship wasn’t going anywhere” or something-or-other. Anyway, after a few awkward months we became good friends again, but with no romantic interest. It stayed this way for about six years until we started dating again in college. And as they say, the rest is history.

Happy 10 years, sweetheart! (Kind of.)

