Today, Drew and I are moving out of our very first apartment. It’s very bittersweet. We’ve grown out of our lovely little place and are aching for more space (think a REAL desk) and the cost of living in Annapolis…well, that’s just a whole other story. We have noisy neighbors, no room for a kitchen table and a laundry machine that only fits 3 pairs of jeans. It’s time to move on.

It wasn’t all cramped and bad, though. This place was where our life together began, where we spent our wedding night, where we learned how to be best friends, where we celebrated our first anniversary. This apartment has seen the creation of uncountable inside jokes, belly laughs, good night kisses and stay-at-home movie nights. This is where I lived while I worked my first real world job, then quit it to pursue a dream. This is where Drew and I learned how to become one: one unit, one love, one family.

We are not just moving; we are moving on. We’re in our second year of marriage (year one seriously flew by) and picking up speed. Good grief, I love that man.

In honor of moving on, I thought I’d share a little of where we came from.

Growing up, our families camped together. This was the era when boys were of no interest to me…and vice versa. I’m around 8 or 9 and Drew is 10 or 11. (Don’t hate on how ridiculous we look.)

We started dating officially in 2005. Here we are at Tom and Renata’s wedding, about a month into dating.

Getting engaged the week of Thanksgiving 2006. Drew proposed at the piano. This isn’t actually a picture of the proposal…it was taken a couple of days earlier (we sat at the piano a lot), but it will give you the idea :) As crazy as this sounds for a photographer, Drew and I only took one picture the night we got engaged and I don’t have a digital copy of it.

August 10, 2007. That was a good day. :)

The last picture is of Drew the day we moved our stuff into the apartment. The first meal we ever ate here together was Wendy’s and, ironically (and not on purpose), so was the last.

Here’s to celebrating the past and moving forward! Cheers!

