If you think that I’m weirder than Drea, well, you’re probably right.  I’m pretty weird.  But perhaps providing a list of the books Drea and I are currently reading will bring newfound insight into our respective weirdness levels.

What I’m reading:

1) “I’m a Stranger Here Myself” – Bill Bryson.  Yet another indication of my growing appreciation for Bryson’s wit.

2) “A Generous Orthodoxy” – Brian McLaren.  His controversy-spurring confession of faith.  Don’t agree with all he says, but fascinated by his innovative take on Christianity.  (I might post on this book later.)

3) “I Am America (And So Can You!)” – Stephen Colbert.  HILARIOUS, and a total guilty pleasure.  I’m OK with it.

So my list is pretty normal right?  OK, here’s what Drea is reading (the first two are pretty normal; the last one will knock your socks off):

1) “A Chance to Die: The Life and Legacy of Amy Carmichael” – Elizabeth Elliot.  Sounds like a fascinating biography. Classic Drea book.

2) “Feminine Appeal” – Carolyn Mahaney.  Evidently, a highly beneficial look into Godly womanhood.  She’s actually done reading it, but I threw it in to help you absorb the shock of the next title…

3) “Death in Yellowstone: Accidents and Foolhardiness in the First National Park” – Lee H. Whittlesey.  Red flags going up?  I THINK SO.  Ever since our vacation about a month ago, Drea has developed a morbid fascination with people dying in national parks.  After this book, she wants to read a similar one about happy tourists plummeting to their untimely deaths at the Grand Canyon.

People, should I be worried here?  Has my wife gone off the deep end?  Should I exercise more care than usual the next time Drea and I are near a precipitous ledge of some kind?

For good measure, I should mention that we both were fascinated by the Wikipedia article about unusual deaths.  So I guess we’re both weirdos in our own regard.  :)

