We visited a church in Broomfield.  And, I mean, it was OK and everything, but it’s always funny to visit other churches and observe the similarities and differences compared to your home church.  For example, we concluded that almost every church has an “anthem” worship song – in other words, one that is sung almost every Sunday for a period of time usually determined by how long it takes people to start threatening to leave the church if they have to sing it one more time.

For our church, it was “Breathe”.  There may have been one or two Sundays around 2001/2002-ish that we wouldn’t be found singing “and I…I…I, I’m desperate for You” at the top of our lungs.  Consequently, I now throw up in my mouth a little whenever I hear someone even hint at this being “the air I breathe” or “my daily bread.”

Anyhow, you can always tell which song is that particular church’s “anthem” because people start getting way into it even before the first line is sung.  A sure-fire sign of an anthem is those few shouts of excitement and applause as soon as people recognize the chord progression.  If you really want the Spirit to move, throw in a few extra choruses at the end.  And a key – no, TWO key changes!

I don’t mean to be sarcastic.  Well no, that’s a lie.  I do.  But sometimes a well-placed key change is an effective element in musical worship.  In any case, at this church the anthem song clearly was Aaron Shust’s “My Savior, My God”.  I felt kind of bad because I’d already expressed previously to Drea my reasons for disliking that song.  So we kind of exchanged a little snicker right there in the middle of worship.

It was also kind of funny because this church did the typical “greet the people around you” thing and only one person introduced herself to us.  Then they had all the first-timers raise their hands so they could give us a gift bag.  So there sat Drea and I, our raised hands giving clear testimony to our newcomer status, passing judgement on all those heathens around us who couldn’t even find the common decency to welcome a stranger to their congregation.  I shot a seething look at a nice-looking younger couple seated behind us.

Again, I’m just being sarcastic.  Personally, I actually find the 60-second meet-and-greet thing a little cheesy, so I can’t blame them.

Well, that was quite a tangent!  So…suffice it to say we went to church, relaxed, did some reading, and hung out with a few of my relatives in my Uncle Mark’s gazebo/fire pit looking out over the Rockies.  It was a great way to spend our last full vacation day.

