So as Drea mentioned earlier, I’m in Texas for a 2-week class in fire protection design. While I’m enjoying the classes, and feeling a little better about my job proficiency, I am also missing my wife, and home in general. Nonetheless, I think it’s always good to periodically get out of your normal routine and experience the world in a different way, which is why I like traveling so much. However, being here in the northern suburbs of Dallas has actually provided a discouraging reminder of the things we tend to value. Dallas bears no resemblance to the cowboys-and-spurs stereotypes we tend to assign to Texas. It actually looks like any other big American city – a few skyscrapers surrounded by miles and miles of cookie-cutter houses, shopping malls, restaurant chains, and office buildings. And it made me realize how lame the “American dream” really is. If it’s really all about buying a house in the suburbs, driving a decent car, and being able to eat out a few times a week, then most Americans are, according to the “dream”, getting the most they can out of life. And even though I tend to pass judgement on people with this mentality, I’m equally guilty of spending most of my energy pursuing the same things. In fact, I think it’s safe to say the majority of my time is governed by money – either making it or spending it. To me, the thought of this is kind of depressing. But what am I supposed to do? I don’t think God is calling me to quit my job and leave the country so Drea and I can become missionaries (although I think he calls some people to do this). I do believe that God is at work everywhere, which means he’s at work on the frontier of foreign missions, as well as here in our seemingly ordinary lives. So even though it doesn’t seem as “godly” as risking your life to preach the gospel in a hostile country, I think we have a great calling to present the gospel here in America. People here need Jesus too.

